More Than Half of the 2019 GRAMMY Semifinalists Are NAfME Members

This week, the GRAMMY Museum® announced its 25 semifinalists for the 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator Award™. More than 2,800 initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states; semifinalists were selected from 25 cities across 16 states. NAfME is delighted to announce that 15 of the 25 GRAMMY semifinalists are active members of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME). From band and orchestra directors to choral conductors and elementary school general music teachers, NAfME congratulates each of these inspiring, dedicated, and driven music educators.

The GRAMMY Music Educator Award was first introduced to highlight the meaningful work done daily by thousands of music educators across the United States, from kindergarten to college, from public to private schools. Teachers honored with this award have made clear contributions to music education, and have committed to the cause of preserving and maintaining music education in schools. The award is a partnership and joint presentation of The Recording AcademyTM and the GRAMMY Museum.

Here are this year’s semifinalists. NAfME Members are highlighted in bold.

  • Michael Antmann

  • Freedom High School

  • Clermont, Florida

  • Jeff Ball

  • The Grand Street Campus High Schools

  • Brooklyn, New York

  • Deanna Bell

  • Vestavia Hills Elementary East

  • Irondale, Alabama

  • Jeremy Bradstreet

  • Dublin Coffman High School

  • Dublin, Ohio

  • John Burn

  • Homestead High School

  • San Jose, California

  • Victor de los Santos

  • Santa Ana High School

  • Santa Ana, California

  • David Dehner

  • Cornerstone Christian Schools

  • San Antonio, Texas

  • Elizabeth Hering

  • Churchill High School

  • Canton, Michigan

  • Paul Holzen

  • Parkway Central Middle School

  • Dardenne Prairie, Missouri

  • Brandi Jason

  • Liberty High School

  • Sykesville, Maryland

  • Gary Meggs

  • Arkansas High School

  • Texarkana, Arkansas

  • Henry Miller

  • Sierra Vista Middle School

  • Lake Forest, California

  • Brian Querry

  • Charles A. Huston Middle School

  • North Apollo, Pennsylvania

  • Michael Raiber

  • Oklahoma City University

  • Norman, Oklahoma

  • Amy Rangel

  • Glendale High School

  • Burbank, California

  • Jeffery Redding

  • West Orange High School

  • Orlando, Florida

  • Joshua Shaw

  • Coronado High School

  • Lubbock, Texas

  • Scott Sheehan

  • Hollidaysburg Area Senior High School

  • Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania

  • Mickey Smith Jr.

  • Maplewood Middle School

  • Sulphur, Louisiana

  • Craig Snyder

  • Penncrest High School

  • Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania

  • Sarah Todd

  • Mary Lyon Elementary School

  • Chicago, Illinois

  • Matthew Trevino

  • Roan Forest Elementary

  • San Antonio, Texas

  • Helen Walker

  • Doby’s Mill Elementary

  • Camden, South Carolina

  • John Weatherspoon

  • Lake Worth Community High School

  • West Palm Beach, Florida

  • Heath Wolf

  • Farmington Junior High

  • Kaysville, Utah


The ten finalists will be announced in December

The 2019 GRAMMY Music Educator, selected out of the ten finalists, will be flown out to Los Angeles to attend the 61st Annual GRAMMY Awards on February 10, 2019, and attend various GRAMMY week events. The nine additional finalists will each receive a $1,000 honorarium; the schools of all ten finalists will receive matching grants.

Fifteen semifinalists will also receive a $500 honorarium with matching school grants. Read a list of the quarterfinalists featuring NAfME members.

The honorariums and grants provided to the finalists and schools are made possible through the support of the GRAMMY Museum’s Education Champion Ford Motor Company Fund. Outreach for this program has been assisted by the American Choral Directors Association, National Association for Music Education, NAMM Foundation, and National Education Association.

All five of the previous GRAMMY Music Educator honorees—Kent KnappenbergerJared CassedyPhillip RiggsKeith Hancock, and Melissa Salguero—are NAfME members.

More information about the GRAMMY Educator Award is available hereNominations for the 2020 Music Educator Award are open for both teachers, students, and the public to nominate a music educator that inspires them today. Best wishes to the semifinalists! 


The National Association for Music Education (NAfME) provides a number of forums for the sharing of information and opinion, including blogs and postings on our website, articles and columns in our magazines and journals, and postings to our Amplify member portal. Unless specifically noted, the views expressed in these media do not necessarily represent the policy or views of the Association, its officers, or its employees.

Catherina Hurlburt, Marketing Communications Manager. October 11, 2018. © National Association for Music Education (

Tags: GRAMMYGRAMMY Weekmusic educationMusic Educator Award